Time Bomb

I was awoken by the early morning sun; it was blinding me as it shone from the top window. I turned to the side and i saw him– the sun that was blinding me was gently resting, glistening on his lovely face. It’s funny that sometimes, the things that hurt us are beneficial to another. I wanted to wake him up, but I didn’t want to disrupt his sleep. The Day before yesterday, he told me I’m handsome, and of course, i told him so is he. I didn’t realize how handsome he truly was until that moment. He was as warm and beautiful as the morning sun– giving warmth after the harsh cold that came before. His skin, like his soul, was glowing along with the rays of the sun; his slightly parted lips just wanting me to press mine against his; yet I didn’t want to startle him. I knew that this peace won’t go on for long.

“I don’t want to quote Taylor Swift, but… you’re the best thing that’s ever been mine”. I was shocked to hear that after a long night of sex.We both hate Taylor Swift.

“Of all the songs in the world, why that?” I asked.

“Well, it’s true. It’s undeniable. You’re mine– that makes me happy. I’m yours—that makes me happy too. Unless you’re not happy, are you?”

 “Of course not! I’m incredibly happy. I love you, babe.”

“I love you too. Come let’s make breakfast.”

“But the bed is so cozy and fluffy, I want to snuggle more with you. We don’t have much time left here in the villa.” I pleaded.

“Please, I’m just so hungry.  I’ll just fix a quick meal, and even bring you some if you like; I’ll come back up when I’m done. How’d that sound?”

“Okay, fine. Just hurry up, okay?”

He hurriedly went out of the room. “It’s now or never” I told myself. I stood up, went to my bag and got a little black box. While waiting for his return, I prepared the room, put on his favorite song, Eddie Vedder’s “Without You”, on repeat, and spread rose petals all over the room. As he was approaching, I heard his footsteps; he heard the song, dropped the food, then saw me kneeling on one knee.He drew nearer, I held out the little black box.

“It’s a time bomb; we’ll die together, making us together for all eternity.”

“Cut to the chase! Haha! Ask me!” he exclaimed.

“Ask you what?” I answered jokingly.

“Come on! Just ask me!”

“Fine, here it goes. Edison, will you marry me?”

“Yes! Oh god, yes! I’ve been waiting for this for years!” he was on the verge of tears.

“Thank you. I love you so much too.”

 “What about your daughter, Marla, and your family? They hate our relationship so much.”

“Nah, I’m sure she’ll be okay once we tie the knot.”

We left the villa a few hours after the proposal. I was confident that everything would go smoothly since I’ve already prepared and planned everything for the wedding; the date, reception, and everything else—we were ready.

We drove directly to my parents’ home to tell my family the news. When they heard everything, my parents both slapped and disowned me; Marla, my beautiful daughter, walked out of the house, got hit by a truck and died on the spot. Edison was ganged up by my brothers and blamed him for everything; yet he remained to be strong for us.

Everything was set, we were ready, but the world wasn’t.

Leave a Reply

